Author: Dana Bouquet

One of my favorite things about being on the Notre Dame Softball Team is our commitment to serving others. This past summer, I spent time four weeks volunteering in a first grade classroom as a teacher’s assistant. During this time, I acted as a mentor to the students and learned techniques that will apply to my future teaching career. I also worked with a 10 and under softball team to give them batting lessons and support them at their games.  These girls loved the game of softball and found so much joy in a simple batting lesson. They helped me to appreciate the opportunity I have to play softball for the University of Notre Dame. Over Fall Break, I spent a week in the Dominican Republic to help out at a school and an orphanage. Not only did I improve my Spanish, but I was inspired by the faith and strength of those people who lived in such intense poverty. Even though I set out to serve others, those who I served also gave so much to me. The following quote sums up my experience with community service,  “It is in giving that we receive.”

dsc07319

This Photo is me with one of the students in the Dominican Republic

Leave a Reply

