Our team puts a strong emphasis on community involvement and the ways it helps to build us into strong, compassionate, selfless individuals. Whether it be volunteering at the local homeless shelter, beautifying our beaches and parks, or being there for someone in need, our team is present.

This break I spent time making some cooking mats out of old cut up t-shirts that I plan to contribute to our Strike Out Cancer silent auction this year. All the money we raise during that time we donate to help kids fighting Leukemia.

Among making cooking mats, I attended a hockey game right when I got back to campus of a little guy I had met my freshman year when the team visited Indy and volunteered at Riley Hospital. Blake was a little tike bake then, while his brother was going through treatment. I have reconnected with the family this year and have actually been to a few hockey games since. I signed a ball that Blake keeps in his hockey bag and apparently likes to show it off (; Blake’s brother is doing very well now also and Blake is as spunky as ever!

Leave a Reply

